Table of Contents


Name Republic of Serbia
Local name Republika Srbija
Capital Belgrade
Area 88 361 km²
Religions Serbian Orthodox, Muslim, Roman Catholic
Population 10 100 000 Serbs

Current Serbia is since 5 june 2006, the administrative heir of what was at the beginning of the XXth century, the Kingdom of Yugoslavia, the Democratic Federation of Yugoslavia after the second world war, in 1946 the Popular Federal Republic Yugoslavia, on 7 april 1963 the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, in 1992 the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, and finally in 2003, the States community Serbia-and-Montenegro.


Serbia presents varied landscapes. In the north, in Voïvodina, there is the great Pannonian plain, real agricultural lung of the country, separated from the rest of the countryby rivers Save and Danube. Southernmost, there are the low mountains of Šumadija and Podrinje, respectively crossed by rivers Drina and Morava. On the east, there are the regions of Stig, Negotinska Krajina and, in the southeast, the Južna Srbija (« Southern Serbia »), higher mountains. In the west of Serbia, there are the Dinaric mountains, mainly in the regions of Sandjak and Kosovo.

The main cities are Belgrade, Novi Sad (head city of Voïvodina), Niš, (Priština , head city of Kosovo), Kragujevac, Subotica.


Kosovo is an autonomous region in the southwest of Serbia. Placed under interim administration of the United Nations since 1999, Kosovo should have its definitive status in 2007.
Negociations are undergoing to decide chether the final status will be an autonomy inside the Republic of Serbia or the independance.


After 10 years under the lights of the international community, Serbia whishes to change its image and develop tourism. Emir Kusturica's project in Küstendorf was thus particularly welcomed by the authorities.

A website is now dedicated to promote tourism in Serbia :

en/serbia.txt · Last modified: 2007/03/17 18:30 by matthieu1